Chapter 134: Summer Vacation!

The next morning.

Early in the morning, Galerina’s employees already gathered in the office.

“From today, students seem to be on summer vacation. I also want to take a break and play some games.”

Leaning on her chair, Mesora yawned sleepily.

“This is no time to be lazy. When leisure is the trend, now is the season to sell entertainment!”

Sania looks strangely enthusiastic.

“Umu, although it’s hot outside, let’s do our best to sell it. “

With Galena’s words, the morning greeting was soon over.

From here on, each of us headed off to our own sales destination.

The first place I went is a huge shopping center on the outskirts of the capital.

Mardio Mart.

It is a famous large-scale shopping center with a variety of stores ranging from magic clothes, miscellaneous goods, and daily necessities to a food court.

As it was summer vacation, the inside of the building was crowded with young customers.

The stores were gorgeous and sparkling with magic, and everyone seemed to be enjoying looking at the products.

[The magic casted on Aquawear swimsuit will perfectly supports your swimming activity!]

The summer-ish advertising slogan also echoes, making me feel a little carried away.

Switz is on display at the entrance of a general store.

“It says that two people can play with it.”

“Shall we give it a try?”

Students crowded around the Maruokarts’ test stand.

Un. Looks like it’s getting a lot of attention.

Admiring the atmosphere of the market, I took the elevator to the upper floor.

The magical elevator, which lifts the floor, carries passengers to the designated floor in an instant.

I don’t feel any shaking, which is super convenient.

As I headed to the back of the third floor, I saw a group of children crowding the arcade in the rest area.

“Mayor Attack!”

They are getting excited about Sam City …….

No, it’s Faynal Fights.

One of the player characters is Faggar, a half-naked macho man.

He’s the incumbent mayor of the city. (TLN: Mike Haggar)

“Why is the mayor so muscular?”

“Haha, Mayor punch! Mayor kick!”

Perhaps the mayor boom had broke out, they were happily playing around with Faggar.

There were also a couple playing against each other in Puya Puya.

Summer vacation is in full swing, and the mood is very good.

This store has a good reputation for its arcades, and they are one of the top customers who have bought all kinds of games so far.

It’s probably the best place to get started with crane games.

A man in a suit, who seemed to be in charge of this floor, approached me.

“I’ve been waiting for you, Miss Galerina. I hear it’s a very large cabinet this time.”

“Yes. I’m sure it will make the game floor more exciting. In the meantime, I brought a crane game cabinet, would you like to see it first?”

“Of course, I’d like to set it up right away. Our customers are looking forward to seeing the new one.”

It seems that the friendly person in charge has already decided to buy it.

I took out the crane game machine from the transport plane and set it up at the designated place.

Then the customers around us turned to look at it.

“Wow, it’s huge!”

“What the heck is that ……?”

“A big transparent box, with a small crane inside.”

“What, is this some kind of video game?”

Everyone was puzzled by the huge cabinet that suddenly appeared.

There are no prizes inside yet, and I guess they can’ t tell what kind of game it is just by looking at it.

“This is the crane game ……. It’s gorgeous.”

The person in charge, who knew the contents from the catalog, also groaned at the presence of the real thing.

“Yes. And here are the prizes.”

Next, I took out a cardboard box and placed it beside the cabinet.

When I opened it, the person in charge’s eyes widened.

“Oh, this is ……. Wonderful stuff.”

“Yes. I think everyone, especially game lovers, would love it.”

As we both discussed, the customers watching behind us seemed to be curious about what was inside.

“Is there something in that box?”

“I wonder if they will put something in the box.”

As the young customers talked, I used the key to open the door of the cabinet.

Then I put the prizes in the box.

“Oh, that!”

“That’s Maruo! That’s Maruo’s doll!”

“And there’s Sanic!”

Seeing this, all the people who had been enjoying the arcade came together at once.

“Hey, what’s this?”

“I wonder if it’s a vending machine for game goods.”

Apparently, they thought it was a machine for unattended sales.

This is my turn.

“This is an amusement game machine called a crane game.”

“Amusement?”

A child nearby blinked his eyes.

“Yes. It’s just like the arcade game, you can play it for one coin. You move the crane with this button and pick up the prize inside. If you carry it to this open area and drop it, you can get the goods.”

As I pointed inside and explained, the customers’ eyes lit up.

“So you’re saying that if I play it right, I can buy merchandise for one bell?”

“It depends on the player’s skill. Your skills will be rewarded!”

A girl about my age inserted a coin.

This would be the first time that an ordinary customer of Mardea would challenge the crane.

With everyone’s attention focused on her, she pushed the button and started to move the crane.

Well, I guess it’s impossible to get it in one go.

After all, I couldn’t ……. 

Thinking about something unimportant, I was observing the girl’s first play.

However, my predictions were not correct.

To my surprise, the arm firmly grabbed up Sanic.

Then, it easily carried him to the forefront.

“A-amazing!”

“Took it in one go!”

The customers all rolled their eyes at the result.

The girl was overjoyed as she picked up the stuffed animal that had fallen into the slot.

“I did it! I really got it with one bell! Hey, can I really have this?”

“Y-yes. Congratulations.”

I had no choice but to nod while being stunned.

Because she took it with a crane, it already belongs to her.

She doesn’t cheat and she doesn’t use magic.

Overjoyed, the girl was rubbing the blue mouse on her cheek.

“Umu. It looks interesting, but I wonder if it will be profitable.”

As expected, the person in charge looked worried.

If the prize is taken at the first bell, the purchase price of the prizes won’t pay for itself.

“I-I’m sure it will be fine ……”

Well, there is such a thing called beginner’s luck.

For a while, we decided to watch the players as they played.

Fortunately, the next guy who tried was having a hard time getting the Star 2 goods.

“Hmm, I can’t grab the Liu well. ……”

“Brother, you’re useless.”  TLN: onīchan, hetapi~

The male customer was being compared to the girl who took the first shot, making him play stubbornly.

I think he spent about eight coins.

I felt a little sorry for him, so I decided to open the door and change Liu’s position.

“I think it’s easier to take now. Try it.”

“Oh, thank you.”

Liu, who was placed right next to the drop-out port, fell down as soon as the crane touched it.

“It’s a lame way to get it.”

“Getting help from the clerk.”

However, the eyes of the children who were looking from behind seemed to be harsh.

“You guys are noisy. If you say so, why don’t you try to get it yourself?”

The man argued back while hugging Liu, and in turn, the children started to play using their coins.

“A little more to the right, ……. Ah, too far!”

“It can’ t be helped, let’s aim for the yassy at the back.”

It seems that the boys are also crazy about aiming the prizes.

The person in charge seemed to be relieved when the machine started working smoothly.

“If this is the case, I think we can do something about it.”

“Yes. Just don’t take too much or take too little. Please keep a good balance.”

If it’s too easy to get the prize, the store will not be profitable.

If it’s too hard to get the prize, customers will leave.

Customers can have fun playing, and the store will still be profitable.

Finding that balance is the first step.

Each store operates its own crane game in its own environment.

The person in charge of the crane game also has to keep an eye on the customers and sometimes give them a helping hand.

They were beginning to learn how to handle the situation as they responded to it.

Perhaps because of this, the person in charge seemed to be occupied with the crane game alone.

It was decided that the other arcade would be put into operation another time.

Competitive games, cooperative games and amusement games.

It’s still small, but it’s starting to look more and more like a game corner.

I greeted the person in charge and left the bustling floor.


AN: I will do my best in July. I’d appreciate it if you could bookmark and rate this story.

New Fan art:

Lina By Silla

Please support the author by use Rating and bookmark function on the original WebNovel site.

Also support my translation with Saweria or Ko-fi so I can do the best of my best.

BACK << TOC >> NEXT

3 thoughts on “Chapter 134: Summer Vacation!

Leave a comment