Chapter 149: To the Village

“You all, what is this ruckus going on here?”

A clear, high-pitched voice echoed through the area.

When I turned around, I saw a sparkling, shining presence.

A fairy girl with long, fluffy blond hair wearing a white sash.

Behind her stands a bearded, silvery ferkle.

“Ah, it’s princess!”

“Princess-chama is here!”

When the fairies found her, they started to make a fuss. 

Apparently, she is the princess of this village

“I was wondering why you all who went out to gather materials didn’t come back, and then I found you all playing here. Good grief …….Is that big guy over there a Maldean?”

The princess raises her eyebrows grumpily as she glares at me with her sharp eyes.

“Ah, yes. My name is Lina Marderita.”

“Princess. She’s brought something interesting!”

“It’s called Twin B!”

The princess’s entourage folds his arms as the fairy children introduce the arcade.

“Hmm. It seems that the merchants of Maldea have come to sell entertainment items.”

“Yeah. But still, it’s quite large. ……”

The princess spread her wings gracefully and flew onto the platform.

“Use this button to shoot and move with this stick.”

“Beat the enemies that come out.”

Taught by other fairies, the princess fearlessly presses the button.

Then Twin B starts shooting bullets.

“Wow, it shot. ……”

The Princess’ eyes were sparkling as she experience playing video game for the first time.

She sat down on the platform, looked up at the screen and began to control the aircraft.

But …….

“Ehem. Excuse me, Princess, we are on official duties.”

The princess stood up hurriedly when the bearded uncle coughed.

“That’s right. This is not the time to play.”

She seemed to have some regrets, but she hurriedly stop playing and leaped up.

Then she restored her Princess’s serious face and said.

“Maldean merchant. If you’re here, I assume you’ve been introduced by one of our people. We welcome your visit. But now is not the time to discuss business. I’m sorry, but I wonder if we can discuss  about business later.”

“Y- yes. No problem.”

Well, it was we who barged in without notification.

I guess I’ ll just have to wait until they finish their errands.

“Everyone, pick up the branches and get back to work! The birthday is almost here!”

As the aide waved his hand, the fairies stood up as if remembering.

“Y-yes!”

“I forgot, sorry!”

They picked up their belongings and flew deeper into the forest.

I wondered if fairies also had jobs.

I was intrigued and decided to follow them.

After passing through the deep forest, I saw small wooden houses.

Dozens, maybe hundreds, of pretty structures, about the same height as my knees, stood side by side.

The town was filled with an impressive number of Ferkles that I had never seen before.

Apparently, this is indeed a fairy village.

“Oh, so ferkles make their own homes, too.”

“Umu. Those who want to settle down do so.”

The Grandpa of the meadow nodded and explained.

Some build houses, while others sleep on trees.

As expected of the free-spirited Ferkle, their lifestyles are diverse.

In a vacant lot, a group of fairies were gathering to work on something.

“Bring me a thicker branch!”

“There are not enough chairs!”

A large open space with several small, tiny tables.

The fairies are using their magic power to change the shape of the branches to make chairs.

In the back, I could see something that looked like an altar.

I wondered if they were preparing for something.

The princess from earlier was watching the scene from the sky.

“Princess. The preparations for the festival are almost ready.”

“The cooks have also gathered a lot of fruit for tomorrow.”

The aides are informing her of the arrangements.

“Yes, thank you. But ……, there’s still something missing.”

The princess, however, lowered her eyebrows anxiously.

“Are you going to have a festival?”

“Yes, we are. Tomorrow is the day of the full moon, when Mother-sama will return.”

“Mother?”

“We, the Ferkles, are equally the children of the Spirit. She appears to us only once a year to give us blessings. Tomorrow, the night of the full moon.”

The uncle Ferkle said as he looked up at the sky.

On this world, the moon shines in a perfect circle only once a year.

It is said that on that night, the stars are filled with magical power.

It seems to be an important day for Ferkle.

“I see. Must be a very important event.”

I nodded with a serious expression on my face, and the uncle shook his head with a bland expression.

“No, there is no need to hold a festival. In fact, we haven’t done anything so far. We just met Mother Spirit and shared the joy of the special day. This year, however, princess wanted to celebrate. We’ re very excited about it and are preparing for it.”

“Haha…..”

Ferkle is a free race.

Therefore, there may be no rule.

“So, what is missing?”

“Well. Actually, we’ve never had a party of our own. Usually everyone just flies around and plays as they please. This is the first time we’ve had a formal event. I tried to prepare something, but I felt like it wasn’t enough.”

Then she looked down at the square.

Sure, there is a large venue and a spectacular meal ready.

But there is something missing.

Maybe they don’t know what it is.

In a place like this ancient world, there is probably not much culture.

There were feluccles playing with drums and grass flutes, but nothing more than that.

It’s a primitive and simple world.

As I was looking at the atmosphere of the village, the princess said as if she remembered.

“Oh, by the way, you said you were here for a business talk.”

“Yes, I did. I’d like to bring video games to the people of your village.”

“Yes. Well, that thing certainly looks fun, doesn’t it? Then tomorrow, could you please use the video game to liven up the festival? If it makes my brethrenhappy, I’ ll buy your products.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes. We always free-spirited and are not familiar with this kind of thing. I wonder if you could make it a great experience for us?”

The princess smiles as she tries to give me a test.

This is a business opportunity that I could not wish for.

“Indeed. Our company is an entertainment company. If you want to hold a fun event, please leave it to us.”

The princess nodded happily as I gave her a sales smile.

But her aides didn’t seem to be too happy about it.

“Princess. Even though she is a guest invited by one of our people, I don’t think it’s right to entrust the organization of the festival to an outsider. Our festival should be run by us fairies.”

The princess looks back at the uncle fairy who shows a reluctant face.

“So, do you have any good ideas for me grandpa?”

“Ugh ……”

When the princess questioned him, her aide fell silent.

“I want to do something that will make Mother and everyone in my village happy. Tomorrow is a special day.”

She placed her hands quietly on her chest and turned to face me.

“The Grandpa of the meadow said you are a good Maldean. Of course, I will reward you for this request. How about five hundred fine acorns if the festival goes well?”

Ah. So, the princess is also use acorn.

Or rather, that grandpa called “Grandpa of the meadow ” after all.

I nodded while suppressing the urge to burst at the cute girl.

TLN:草場のじいや = Kusaba no jīya = Grandpa of the meadow. I Change grassfield to meadow. I wonder his name has a kind of reference….

As for Princess Aide… Princess call him jiya/Grandpa. But Lina call him Ojisan/Oldman/Uncle.

“All right. Let’s make tomorrow’s festival a great success!”

“Then, please.”

I reached out my hand and the princess grasped my fingers with both hands.

Well, let’s just call this a handshake.

It’s been a while since I’ve received a request that would test my skills.

But I’m not going to be lax.

In addition to the to this video game, I’ve prepared other items to attract Ferkle’s attention.

I proceeded to check the inside of the transport plane and prepare for tomorrow.


Please support the author by use Rating and bookmark function on the original WebNovel site.

Also support my translation with Saweria or Ko-fi so I can do the best of my best.

BACK << TOC >> NEXT

3 thoughts on “Chapter 149: To the Village

  1. laharl8080

    Thank you for the chapter!!

    wait, an acorn from normal fairy is already expensive and somewhat OP.
    won’t acorn from princess hella expensive since her fairy dust must be good.

    Like

Leave a comment